Airfoil Services Sdn. Bhd.

Reparatur von Triebwerksschaufeln in Malaysia

Airfoil Services Sdn. Bhd. (ASSB) ist ein Joint Venture von MTU Aero Engines (50 Prozent) und Lufthansa Technik (50 Prozent). Das Unternehmen bei Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia konzentriert sich auf die Reparatur von Triebwerksschaufeln von Niederdruckturbinen und Hochdruckverdichtern. ASSB ist Teil des weltweiten Standortnetzes von MTU Aero Engines und des EPAR-Netzwerkes (Engine Parts & Accessories Repair) der Lufthansa Technik.

ASSB arbeitet mit dem Flowline-Prinzip. Dies ist eine Methode, bei der die Triebwerksschaufeln sehr effizient auf einer Produktionsstraße bearbeitet werden. So werden die Durchlaufzeiten deutlich reduziert und eine hohe Qualität sichergestellt. Modernste Reparaturverfahren und eine 420 Mitarbeiter starke und hoch qualifizierte Belegschaft machen ASSB zu einem Spezialisten für die Reparatur von Triebwerksschaufeln. 

  • 2017 ASSB Facility
    Airfoil Services Sdn. Bhd. in Malaysia
  • 2017 ASSB Employee
    Hochqualifizierte Mitarbeiter bei Airfoil Services
  • 2017 ASSB Repair
    Modernste Reparaturverfahren

Aufgrund des expandierenden Luftfahrtmarkts in Asien und dank staatlicher und regionaler Unterstützung konnte sich das Unternehmen im Jahr 2007 stark vergrößern. Das neue Kompetenzzentrum für die Reparatur von Triebwerksteilen umfasst nun 6.000 Quadratmeter Hallenfläche und rund 2.500 Quadratmeter Bürofläche – genug Platz, um weiter zu wachsen. Zurzeit werden bei ASSB Triebwerksschaufeln der Muster CF6-50, CF6-80C2, V2500-A5/D5, der CFM56-3/-5A/-5C/-5BP-Serien und des CF34 repariert.

Das Unternehmen besitzt Zulassungen der chinesischen Luftfahrtbehörde CAAC (Civil Aviation Administration of China), der amerikanischen FAA (Federal Aviation Administration), der europäischen EASA (European Aviation Safety Agency), des malaysischen sowie thailändischen Department of Civil Aviation (DCA) sowie der CAAS (Civil Aviation Administration of Singapore). Angesichts guter Rahmenbedingungen wie der günstigen Lage und des hohen Qualifikationsniveaus der Mitarbeiter wird das Triebwerksportfolio von ASSB kontinuierlich ergänzt.

Die Lufthansa Technik Gruppe hat sich als unabhängiger Anbieter für die Reparatur von Triebwerksteilen und anderen Flugzeugteilen auf dem Markt etabliert. Die Kombination von einzelnen Reparaturleistungen und selbst entwickelten Prozessen ermöglicht es, die Kosten für die Kunden gering zu halten und die Laufzeiten von Triebwerken zu erhöhen. Mit der Hilfe von innovativen Reparaturmethoden kann oftmals der Einsatz von teuren Neuteilen vermieden werden. Das hochmoderne Unternehmen verfügt über einen herausragenden Maschinenpark und bietet spezielle Reparaturmethoden wie Advanced Recontouring Process (ARP), Bronzebeschichtungen und Hochgeschwindigkeitsflammspritzen (high velocity oxygen fuel spraying = HVOF) an. Zum weltweiten EPAR-Netzwerk (Engine Parts & Accessories Repair) der Lufthansa Technik gehören neben Airfoil Services Sdn. Bhd. in Malaysia auch die Lufthansa Technik-Standorte Hamburg und Berlin, Lufthansa Technik Turbine Shannon in Irland und Lufthansa Technik Philippines.

Airfoil Services Sdn. Bhd.

Repair of engine blades in Malaysia

Airfoil Services Sdn. Bhd. (ASSB) is a joint venture between MTU Aero Engines (50 percent) and Lufthansa Technik (50 percent). Based near Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia, the company specializes in the repair of engine airfoils from low-pressure turbines and high-pressure compressors. ASSB is part of the global site network of MTU Aero Engines and the Engine Parts & Accessories Repair (EPAR) network of Lufthansa Technik.

ASSB works according to the flow line principle, a method whereby the engine airfoils are processed highly efficient on a single production line. This has the effect of reducing throughput times significantly and of ensuring high quality. State-of-the-art repair procedures and a skilled workforce that numbers 420 make ASSB a specialist for the repair of engine airfoils. 

  • 2017 ASSB Facility
    Airfoil Services Sdn. Bhd. in Malaysia
  • 2017 ASSB Employee
    Highly skilled employees at Airfoil Services
  • 2017 ASSB Repair
    State-of-the-art repair procedures

Due to the expanding aviation market in Asia and thanks to government and regional support, the company expanded considerably in 2007. The new competence center for the repair of engine parts now boasts 6,000 square meters of hall space and a further 2,500 square of office space – offering plenty of scope for further expansion. At the moment ASSB repairs engine blades for the CF6-50, CF6-80C2, V2500-A5D5, the CFM56-3/-5A/-5C/-5BP series and the CF34 engine types.

The company is in possession of approvals from the Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC), the American Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), Malaysian Departments of Civil Aviation (DCA), Thailand Departments of Civil Aviation (DCA) and Civil Aviation Administration of Singapore (CAAS). Thanks to good framework conditions such as the favorable location and the high qualification level of the workforce, ASSB's engine portfolio is steadily expanding. Airfoil Services is also certified with ISO14001.

The Lufthansa Technik Group has established itself on the market as an independent provider for the repair of engine parts and other aircraft parts. The combination of individual repair services and processes developed in-house makes it possible to keep costs down for customers and to increase engine service life. By using innovative repair methods it is often possible to avoid the need to purchase expensive new parts.The ultra-modern facility is equipped with state-of-the-art machinery and has installed the most advanced repair techniques such as the Advanced Recontouring Process (ARP), also offering special repair methods such as aluminide bronze coating and high velocity oxygen fuel spraying (HVOF). Apart from Airfoil Services Sdn. Bhd. in Malaysia, the other elements of Lufthansa Technik's global EPAR network are the Lufthansa Technik sites of Hamburg and Berlin, Lufthansa Technik Turbine Shannon in Ireland and Lufthansa Technik Philippines.