Lufthansa Technik Sofia

Modernste Flugzeugüberholung in Osteuropa

Die im Spätsommer 2007 gegründete und im Oktober 2008 eröffnete Lufthansa Technik Sofia (LTSF) ist ein Gemeinschaftsunternehmen der Lufthansa Technik AG (75,1%) und der Bulgarian Aviation Group (24,9%). Das bulgarische Unternehmen hat sich auf die Wartung, Überholung und Instandhaltung (Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul – MRO) von Mittelstreckenflugzeugen der Airbus A320-Familie und der Boeing 737-Serie (Classic und Next Generation) spezialisiert. Somit bildet Lufthansa Technik Sofia – neben dem Technikzentrum der Lufthansa Technik in Berlin, Lufthansa Technik Shannon in Irland, Lufthansa Technik Malta und Lufthansa Technik Budapest – ein weiteres Standbein der Lufthansa Technik Gruppe zur Überholung von Kurz- und Mittelstreckenflugzeugen in Europa.

Auf einer Gesamtfläche von 25.000 Quadratmetern arbeiten rund 600 hoch qualifizierte Mitarbeiter für das deutsch-bulgarische Joint Venture. In dem modernisierten Hangar mit einer Fläche von 6.000 Quadratmetern können auf zwei Instandhaltungslinien jährlich bis zu 24 Überholungschecks (IL- und D-Checks) und weitere Wartungsarbeiten an Kurz- und Mittelstreckenflugzeugen durchgeführt werden. Durch den Einsatz modernster Technologien ist es sogar möglich, Flugzeuge im Hangar parallel zur Überholung zu lackieren. So wird wertvolle Zeit gespart, die sonst durch das Umpositionieren in eine separate Lackierhalle anfallen würde. Lufthansa Technik Sofia operiert unter der Zulassung der europäischen Luftfahrtbehörde EASA (Part 145), unter der auch das Mutterunternehmen Lufthansa Technik arbeitet, – ein weiteres Merkmal für die hohen Qualitätsstandards des Unternehmens.

Im ersten Jahr nach Betriebsaufnahme im Oktober 2008 konnten am Standort Sofia bereits Wartungs- und Überholungsarbeiten an mehr als 15 Flugzeugen der Typen Airbus A319, A320, A321 und Boeing 737 ausgeführt werden. Zu den Kunden der Lufthansa Technik Sofia zählen bereits internationale Fluggesellschaften aus West- und Osteuropa sowie den USA.

Mit der Gründung von Lufthansa Technik Sofia ist ein weiteres hoch effizientes Unternehmen im globalen MRO-Netzwerk der Lufthansa Technik AG am Markt etabliert, das ausgezeichnete Qualität zu wettbewerbsfähigen Konditionen bietet. Das ist einerseits auf die kurzen Liegezeiten und andererseits auf die im lokalen Schulungszentrum für zivile Luftfahrt und in Abstimmung mit der Lufthansa Technik exzellent ausgebildeten Mechaniker und Ingenieure zurückzuführen. Dabei profitieren die Mitarbeiter der Lufthansa Technik Sofia sowohl von der jahrelangen Erfahrung der Bulgarian Aviation Group als auch vom Trainings-Know-how der Lufthansa Technik.

Durch die geographische Lage von Lufthansa Technik Sofia am südöstlichen Rande Europas ist der Standort gut für die Zukunft des Marktes in der Region gerüstet. Laut gängiger Prognosen nimmt die Nachfrage nach Instandhaltungsleistungen speziell für die Airbus A320 und Boeing 737 hier in den kommenden Jahren konstant zu. Zum einen wachsen die bestehenden Flotten der Low Cost Carrier Europas, des Nahen Ostens und Nordafrikas weiter und zum anderen stellen zahlreiche osteuropäische Airlines ihre Flotten auf Flugzeuge westlicher Bauart um.

Tell a friend Bookmark Print

Lufthansa Technik Sofia

State-of-the-art aircraft overhauls in Eastern Europe

Founded in the late summer of 2007 and opened in October 2008, Lufthansa Technik Sofia (LTSF) is a joint venture company between Lufthansa Technik AG (75,1%) and the Bulgarian Aviation Group (24,9%). The Bulgarian company specializes in the maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) of narrowbody aircraft in the Airbus A320 family and the Boeing 737 series (Classic and Next Generation). Lufthansa Technik Sofia is thus the fifth base in the Lufthansa Technik Group to specialize in the overhaul of short-and medium-or aircraft in Europe, after Lufthansa Technik's maintenance center in Berlin, Shannon Aerospace in Ireland, Lufthansa Technik Malta and Lufthansa Technik Budapest.

About 600 highly qualified staff work for the German-Bulgarian joint venture in a site that extends over a total area of 25,000 square meters. The modernized 6,000 square meters hangar can handle up to 24 overhaul checks (IL- and D-checks) per year, along with other maintenance work on narrowbody aircraft. Thanks to the use of state-of-the-art technologies it is even possible to paint aircraft in the hangar while overhaul work is being conducted in parallel. This saves valuable time that would otherwise be taken up with repositioning the aircraft in a separate paint shop. Lufthansa Technik Sofia is EASA Part 145-approved, the same approval under which the parent company, Lufthansa Technik also operates – another indication of the high standards of quality that are maintained within the company.

Within the first year after commissioning in October 2008, maintenance and overhaul work was carried out in Sofia on over 15 Airbus A319, A320, A321 and Boeing 737 aircraft. Lufthansa Technik Sofia's customers already include international airlines from West and East Europe and the USA.

With the foundation of Lufthansa Technik Sofia, another highly efficient company in the global MRO network of Lufthansa Technik AG has established itself on the market, offering excellent quality on competitive terms. This has been possible thanks to a combination of short layovers and a supply of mechanics and engineers who have received an excellent training from the local Civil Aviation Training Center in consultation with Lufthansa Technik. Here the staff of Lufthansa Technik Sofia benefit both from Bulgarian Aviation Group's long experience and the training expertise of Lufthansa Technik.

Thanks to the geographic location of Lufthansa Technik Sofia on the south-eastern edge of Europe, the facilities are well equipped to meet the future needs of the market in the region. On current forecasts, demand for maintenance services specifically for the Airbus A320 and the Boeing 737 is expected to rise steadily over the coming years. Not only are the existing fleets of the low-cost carriers of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa continuing to grow, but at the same time many East European airlines are upgrading their fleets to Western aircraft types.

MagnifyLufthansa Technik AG
Hangar of Lufthansa Technik Sofia
MagnifyLufthansa Technik AG
Lufthansa Technik Sofia is an important employer of highly qualified personnel in Bulgaria
MagnifyLufthansa Technik AG
The company operates a 12,500 square meters facility at Sofia airport
MagnifyLufthansa Technik AG
Maintenance services for single-aisle aircraft
Contact
  • Customer Contact
     
    Customer Contact

    Lufthansa Technik Sofia Ltd.

    Sofia Airport
    Hangar 3
    1540 Sofia
    Bulgaria
    +359 2 4601 777 +359 2 4601 251